New jazz piece!

edited January 2018 in User demos
This started out as a low-key showcase for the Clarinet that I got for Christmas. Things kind of escalated though...

Listen to "Laid-Back and Untroubled" on SoundCloud.

:)

Comments

• Wow! Fantastic! Great tune, great arrangement, great playing, and great mix/production. Are you using an EWI or Breath Controller? I hope someday to make my Sample Modeling instruments sound as real as yours. Any playing / recording tips you might have would be really appreciated. Thanks for sharing. Very impressive work.
  • edited 4:31AM
    Thank you sir! I'm certainly no expert - I'm still learning how to make the most of these instruments, while also challenging myself to compose music that I'd actually want to listen to. :-)

I use a keyboard with a TEC Breath & Bite Controller 2 (BBC2). The BBC2 makes a huge difference in terms of expressive playing. And that's pretty much all I used for the clarinet part, with just a few editor tweaks of note velocity to control the portamento speed between a couple of notes.

For the saxophone, I still struggle to get exactly the sound I want in real time. I think it's because a real saxophone is such a complex instrument with so much nuance to its sound. The SWAM engine is capable of mimicking a lot of that nuance, but there are many different inputs that go into it, and I'm not yet coordinated enough to supply all the right signals in real time. So I'll do as much as I can with the BBC2 and keyboard, but then I spend a lot of time tweaking controllers in the editor after the fact.

I think an EWI would probably be a better controller for more realistic playing overall, and I've heard some great examples from others on this forum (see http://www.samplemodeling.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=785 for one great example). But I've never learned to play a wind instrument, so I work with what I know. :-)