SWAM Violin + WX5

edited August 2017 in User demos
Hi,

I put together a few Jewish and Ladino melodies, played with the SWAM Violin #1, on a Yamaha WX5 (+GB, on a Mac).

https://dchapiro.bandcamp.com/album/klezmer-ladino-and-other-jewish-music

(I like the expressivity of SWAM, but getting pedals etc., to get more timbre changes as I play the WX5, is still in my todo list - I only care about live playing, not post-processing)

--Dan

Comments

• edited 12:49PM
    I also am only interested in live playing not in programming melodies. (Even though I am a software programmer in real life :D . )

I don't use a wind controller but a breath controller and a keyboard.

I am already rather happy with me playing the Flute. I still need to do an awful lot of practicing with the Cello, but due to the many realtime controllable parameters, this setups provides wonderful "live"-feeling and a lot of fun. Maybe I will post a little demo impro here rather soon.

With the TEC BBC and the Cello, additionally to the "breath" for expression I use "bite" for bow pressure, "head nod" for pitch bend, "head tilt sidewards" for vibrato speed, keyboard "after touch" for vibrato depth, "Mod wheel" for bow position, "pitch bend wheel up" for O-Tone, "portamento pedal" for bow direction reverse and (of course) "volume pedal" for volume.

As all important parameters are handled by the right hand and by mouth/head action, I can still use the left hand on the other keyboard to do Piano chords or Double Bass lines (my limited skills notwithstanding :oops: )

Anyway, the greatest challenge right now is to control the breath action in a way that the Cello gets a decent bowing sound and not a "blown" impression.

-Michael
    Hi Michael,

It's impressive how much the TEC BC has improved! I like a lot what you play with Boa Sorte. Have you also recorded some of the things you do with the TEC+SWAM cello? (or with the flute?).

Best,

Daniel