EWI 4000s setup hints?

smwsmw
edited January 2014 in Windcontrollers
I've been playing an EWI 4000s for about three years, but until now only with hardware synthesizers. I'm just getting started with the Sample Modeling brass bundle and SWAM clarinets, and I'm having problems getting the kind of sound that I know these instruments are capable of.

...so basically I'm asking for setup advice, particularly on the EWI side. I've already discovered that the EWI's "br" parameter needs to be modified -- the SWAM engine seems to use aftertouch and expression, while these both need to be disabled when playing through a VL70-m. Are there other EWI setup tweaks that would help?

So far most of the tips I've been able to find online are written for the EWI USB or Yamaha WX5; the only article I've found specifically about the EWI 4000s talks mostly about SWAM settings rather than EWI settings, which is why I'm starting a new thread here.

Thanks,

- Steven

Comments

• edited 7:54PM
    I'm talking about the new Saxophones using the SWAM engine and for all of the Saxophones I found that setting Vibrato to CC2 (as suggested by my friend Kobi), produces far better vibrato than the default setting. For me this was probably the single most important setting to make the instruments sing.

I think I also enable the Auto Learn Expression (it's not in front of me so I don't remember exactly). There are lots of parameters that are adjustable, and some don't seem to make any difference to my ears. The Vibrato Rate I set to about 4, and the Random Vibrato Rate to something like 5-8. I play around with these a lot and I'm never sure I have it adjusted optimally. Possibly the optimal setting should be different for upper vs lower range.