EWI vibrato

edited July 2013 in Windcontrollers
since there are several (3) ways to create a vibrato, let us discuss our preferred methods.

So here I make the beginning. I'm an amateur player, but I have the EWI since some years.

I use mostly breath for vibrato. It is a bit difficult, it may sound unnatural at times, so it's not the easiest method. With some focus on the piece I want to play, and with training, it does however work quite well.

A special note is necessary for the lip position: unlike most EWI players, I play it like a recorder. I slightly press the top of the mouthpiece to my lips. It appears to me that this lip position gives me better control over the breath parameter, and better vibrato control. Maybe it's just that I come frome recorders (sopran, sopranino, alto), I don't know.

As a side note, we've discussed this matter in the forum some time ago, whether it's a tremolo or really a vibrato. I think it is a bit of both, but quite natural sounding at the end of a note.

The second method is to hold the thumb close to the pitch bend plate, and shake the EWI. This is a good method when you are standing, with the EWI attached to a neck strap. Like the previous method, it can also sound unnatural, especially when you bend too far, or not in the right rhythm. There is also a downside. With certain finger positions it is no more possible to perform, and the player has to switch quickly to another method.

The third method is the 'default' biting the mouthpiece. That never appealed to me, and I never really used it. But I may learn it some day.

Comments

• edited 10:48AM
    I didn't know method n°2. Sounds a bit "extreme" to me :p

Not sure you can really have a precise control while shaking your instrument.