What would i gain by buying a wind controller or EWI...

edited March 2011 in Windcontrollers
OK guys - I'm addicted already to the saxes and the trumpet. :D

I used to play the oboe to a pretty high standard and i did a degree on the recorder.

Now I'm a pro composer and orchestrator working mostly with MIDI. I need to update my 2009-2010 showreel and I want to know.... is it just more fun when playing these sounds with a WC or EWI, or will i be able to make the sounds actually more realistic?

I love having fun, but budgets are tight - so i'm trying to find out this:

1. Is it worth the investment in an EWI at this stage, or does it not make much difference in real terms?

2. What is the difference in playability between an EWI and a breath or other wind controller?

I hope someone will let me know what they think!

Thanks again.

David Tobin

http://www.logictrainer.co.uk

http://www.davidtobin.co.uk

Comments

• edited 9:24AM
    hi,

with the ewi, you'll have a better control of the expression, a more natural phrasing, and overall, you'll play in the same physical position than a real sax player, so it will be so amazing and fun to play that every note you do will sound better : it's the same difference that play guitar on a keyboard, on a shoulder keyboard and on a real guitar.

with the ewi, you're very close to the sax or trumpet attitude ...

am i clear ?

regards

Yvan
    That makes lots of sense - thanks!

So it's worth the investment?

Not just for fun but for the actual quality of what is produced?

Do you still need to input keyswitches and CC's afterwards etc... or do you control all of this from the EWI - It's just I've only really ever used a keyboard controller, so don't have any experience or wind or breath controllers....

Thanks for the info!

David
    Hi,

With the EWI, you can control what you want such as growl, subharmonic, mutes, switch between sax and trumpet ... etc ... portamento, pitch ...